Everyone’s A Rapper!!!!

Everybody’s got a CD now a days, any two people can print up a few t-shirts and call themselves a company. Pharmaceutical companies are spending 10s of millions of dollars starting labels named after a body spray. In my opinion its just a glorified marketing campaign, exploiting hip hop. But that’s another blog

So does it seem wrong that what seems like 1 out of every 4 young black males wants to be a rapper. I mean I don’t think being a musical artist should be a job choice for anyone under the age of 18, not even top 10.

Yes, I am a rapper, and yes, I can say the last project I put out was the worst investment ever, only by normal economic standards of course. In retrospect that money, I feel probably would have been wasted in clubs or on clothes seeing that I was the least bit interested in financial responsibility, and still not quite where I need to be…lol…

Instead of seeing it as a bad investment in the music industry, I see it as an investment into my growth as an entrepreneur. I learned about general business, marketing, management, entrepreneurship, networking, budgeting, and a lot more creatively too.

So maybe the fact that so many of our youth WANT to be rappers isn’t such a bad thing after all. If we can use that interest as a spark for education in business or in entrepreneurship we might have a gateway for the future, not only for Hip Hop as a business, but as a culture as well .

“The economic conditions in black communities are such that people don’t got no time to be leisurely involved in some culture…..when young black people are involved in hip-hop, it’s for economic benefit……It’s been modified into business…..but people’s situations are very  pressing, sometimes very desperate, and people recognize hip-hop as a way to improve their (economic) situation.”Mos Def

One Response to “Everyone’s A Rapper!!!!”

  1. Very well presented. Unfortunately many don’t see it from the perspective you’ve presented due to many reasons i.e. mainstream media etc. I’m glad you spoke about this to bring more awareness to the business side of the music industry.

Leave a Reply

